Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)


  • The United States has invited all members of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) to participate in upcoming leaders’ meetings in California, but “appropriate representation” for certain leaders who are under U.S. sanctions is being worked out, according to a senior State Department official.

About APEC:

  • Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) is a forum of 21 Asia-Pacific economies.
  • APEC’s member economies are home to more than 2.9 billion people and make up over 60 per cent of global GDP.
  • APEC partners make up around 75 per cent of Australia’s total trade in goods and services.

APEC was formed to encourage a growing and prosperous regional economy through:

  • trade and investment liberalisation and facilitation – at the border, across the border and behind the border
  • reduced costs of cross-border trade to assist businesses
  • economic and technical cooperation
  • exchanges of best practice information on trade and investment
  • simplified regulatory and administrative processes
  • improved institutional capacity to implement and take advantage of the benefits of trade and investment reform.

APEC members:

APEC’s 21 member economies are:

Syllabus: Prelims